Posted by Axel Steuer on Jun 28, 2018
The Rotary Club of Edina held the annual Transition Meeting, the last meeting of the Rotary year, on June 28. The presidency of the club transitioned from San Asato to John Flynn. John will be president from July 2018 through June 2019. Outgoing Club and Edina Rotary Foundation board members were honored, including Past President Ann Platt, who goes off the Club Board after serving five years. 
Click on the link below for more on the officers and board...
John Flynn was recently inducted as President of the Rotary Club of Edina.

Flynn is a graduate of Edina High School and holds his bachelor’s degrees from Bemidji State and master’s degree from Michigan State University. He spent his career with Lifetouch National School Studios as a sales and marketing executive. He is active as a mentor for high school students and
volunteers on several community boards.

Following in his father’s footsteps, Flynn joined the Rotary Club of Edina in 1989. Before becoming an
officer, he served the Club as chair of several committees and International Service Director. As a
Rotarian, he has been able to travel to Kenya, Uganda and the Dominican Republic to help with clean
water and sanitation projects.

Flynn is inspired by Rotary’s impact around the world. “I’m very encouraged by the humanitarian work
Rotary is doing locally and around world,” he said. “Rotary is a collection of very talented business,
professional and community leaders who are committed to helping change the world in positive ways. I
am humbled to serve as president of such an outstanding organization.”

Rotary International begins its fiscal year July 1. At a year-end meeting June 28, the Rotary Club of
Edina’s officers and committee leaders were introduced. Officers include Flynn; President-Elect Josh
Sprague, Treasurer Sam Thompson, Secretary Michael Stanzak and Past-President San Asato.

Members of the club’s Board of Directors are Kenny Smith, Community Service–Projects; Brandon Azbill and
Paul Peterson, Community Service–Local Funding; David Clynes, The Rotary Foundation; Renee
Harberts, Social; Dan Hennen and Valerie Burke, Public Image; Marty Kupper, Club Service; Shelly
Loberg, International Service; Kip Peterson, Youth Service; and Royce Pavelka, Membership.

Joining the officers to make up the Edina Rotary Foundation Board of Directors are Jennifer
Bennerotte, Keith Benson, Jeff Ohe, Ann Platt, Gary Pedersen and Steve Slyce.